JJ and Bear Creek Adventures

 street flood

The name of my blog “Up a Creek with no Paddle,” is literal, but was derived from a “dry creek” that runs down one side of our property. Blue-eyes later named it “Bear Creek.” She could’ve called “Skunk Creek,” as there was a family of these sweet smelling “beasties” living close by. No “Smokey the Bear” around here and I’ve never seen anything “butt naked” even close to the creek. (Bear versus bare, and I preferred the latter.) Shortly after moving into the new abode, I noticed that there was an easement for flood control. Say what? There was even a small fee on my annual tax bill along with other small fees for stuff I never use, don’t want and in fact don’t know what they are. Case in point, a thing called “vector abatement.” I think they’re after the creepy-crawlies.

We have a large chunk of property, and I went out to the “back 40” and found a four by four foot grate covered drain. I know this is boring as hell, but it gets interesting as we move along. This hole in the ground was the termination or starting point, depending on your prospective, and emptied into a 3 foot-pipe, heading off in the general direction of a real creek about 200 yards away. I didn’t bother to further investigate because it didn’t appear to me there was a potential water issue. My thought was it must be there for a reason, but I have to admit, it wasn’t real apparent as to what that reason could have been. Duh! To get water off the property, Dummy!

About two years later, I got the answer. We hadn’t had much rain, and had something of a dry spell. The area we live in is somewhat rolling hillsides, although our property is mostly level. Really no apparent threat of flooding. Wrong assumption! And then the rains began to fall and not just a little bit. The first day there was a lot of runoff, but most of it was being handled by the normal street drain, which appeared to be part of this flood control drain system. The rain let up a little, but the street drains got clogged with debris and were backing up. While cleaning out the debris, I noticed a lot of standing water between my house and my neighbors, but assumed it would eventually percolate into the cement-like Adobe.

That night the rain really came down in buckets, and as well as the next morning. The storm drains were clogged again and the street was flooded. There was over a foot of water pouring over the gutters and down a neighbor’s driveway into his backyard, swimming pool, as well as the garage. His wife was standing there with a broom in about a foot of water, sweeping water out a door. My thought was, “Man that will really work!”

About this time a car came roaring down the hill, doing about 35, smacked into this water, lost control and went into my other neighbor’s rose garden, took out a water faucet and smacked sideways into a walnut tree. Not real hard, but it sure didn’t help the front of the car. Just what we needed, more damn water. The lady driving tried to start the car, but of course that was not going to happen. She finally got out of the car, getting scratched up by the rose thorns, swearing and yelling at me, “Why haven’t you got a sign or flares out?” I felt like giving her half the peace symbol, but being the gentleman I am, better judgment prevailed. I think I said something like “Your mother wears combat boots.” I asked her if she was all right, she looked at me, didn’t say anything got back in her car and sat there. It could’ve been a lot worse.

Then another car came down the hill, going too fast and even though I stood there and waved frantically, it kept right on going into the water with a gigantic splash. Naturally, this killed the engine. A guy opened the door, started getting out into the water, changed his mind and sat there for a while. He was smart enough to take off his shoes and roll up his pants before attempting to wade through the now nearly two feet of water. He came over, really irritated, looked at me and said “How long has this been here?” I looked at him and said, “Maybe two years!” Then I said, “What kind of boat is that?” He didn’t think that was very funny. At the rate the water was rising, this guy was soon to be the proud owner of a BMW swimming pool. Wise-ass J.J. doesn’t know when to keep his mouth shut. I think I was still smarting from the comments from my new friend – still parked in the Rose Garden.

Noah's ArkNext down the hill, came a kid driving one of these high suspension, oversized tire, pickup trucks. He at least stopped and I went over a told him how deep I thought the water was. He said he was going to try it because he saw where he could get around the “Beemer” on the left side, which was going to be even deeper. He got about half way, going too fast and eventually the water got into his fan blade causing steam to rise, and must have shorted out the ignition. That about did it for me. Here I am standing in the damn rain, soaking wet and wondering if the next person coming down the hill will be Noah, driving his ark too fast and looking every bit like Charlton Heston. I decided that with two cars and a truck stuck in that small river, what I really needed to do was get another cup of coffee. It was too early for a vodka martini. I looked over at the lady still sitting in her car; she had the window rolled down and was picking roses. The lady across the street was still trying to sweep water out of the garage. She really wasn’t making much progress.

Blue-eyes had been on the phone trying to get some attention from our erstwhile global town administration, but all she got was a busy signal. I finally called 911 and got through, explained what was going on, only to be told that it would be at least two hours before anyone could come out. I said, “Fine, by then this street is will look like a wrecking yard.” Great! Where is vector abatement when you really need them? Our tax dollars at work.

I went out to the corral to see how the horses were making out. They were standing in about two feet of water, watching the small river cascade down my back neighbor’s corral. I had built a nice stall and these two dummies preferred to stand in the mud and get soaking wet. I got on the top of the fence to check out the next neighbor’s yard and could see nothing but water going all the way up to their back patio. Their lawn chairs were now floating away, along with the barbeque. What a mess. They didn’t have horses, but did have chickens, all of which were squatting on top of the hen house, which was also about to float away. That proves that chickens have more brains than a horse or for that matter, J.J.

The storm drain in the corner of my property sure didn’t seem to be doing much of anything. Everything was full of debris from trees and other stuff, all headed for the wrecking yard in the front street. I assume the drain was clogged up. DUH! I would’ve needed a small power boat to get to the drain in order to clean it out, and even then with my luck, I would have been sucked into this torrent of water and become an additional piece of wreckage sitting out on the street. The only upside to all this water was I realized I wouldn’t have to “muck-out” the corral for a while. That’s horse talk referring to cleaning up the stuff that comes out of the horse’s other end.

By now the sheriff had showed up, put up a bunch of flares and told me they had closed the road at the top of the hill. There were no new automotive contributions to the river. He went over and was talking with our “Lady of the Roses,” while making notes in his little citation book. Clearly, he was pouring salt into an open wound! I wondered if he was going to say something like “Have a nice day.” At least she got a nice bouquet of roses. The guy that owned the roses was standing in his garage, with a large class of something red, and I’m sure it was just tomato juice. The rose bushes were the pride and joy of his ex-wife and I had a suspicion that he didn’t really give a damn about the damage done to the collection of florets. Mr. “Beemer” was using my phone, and I was sure he was calling Germany to order a new car. The lady with the broom had finally given up and had moved to higher ground, but she still had her broom in hand, just in case. The kid with the “high-rise” truck was sitting in its bed, smoking a cigarette or whatever, with a fishing pole. Just kidding about the fishing pole.

The rain had let up, but the water kept rising. It was now at least 3 feet deep. The Sheriff told me that the real creek was on the verge of overflowing further down the road. I asked him, “Where the hell is all the water coming from?” “From the freeway! It all drains into this here creek of yours,” gesturing toward Bear Creek. He commented that it was backed up for over three quarters of a mile and two other roads were shut down. Oh joy! It now became obvious why I was paying a flood control assessment for a system that didn’t go more than 300 yards.

A maintenance worker from the town finally showed up in a truck, looked at the situation for about 10 seconds, took out two of the things that flash, and left. It was lunch time, so I figured he went to get a hamburger and a beer. The water level began to slowly subside and “Mr. Beemer” went back to his “Bavarian sponge,” obviously waiting for a tow truck or possibly a delegation from the German Embassy. I went out back and one of our horses, Mr. Lucky, was rolling in the mud. I suggested that he wipe his feet before he went into the stall, but somehow I don’t think he was paying any attention.

The next day was Saturday, the rain had quit, the street was clear and the water had gone off in its own mind’s direction, with the exception of small lake surrounding the storm drain in the back of the property. The water was still backed up over two or three of my neighbor’s properties and not moving at all. I expected to see a small boat and water-skier at any moment. Either that, or one of the neighborhood kids yelling “Hey Dude! Surfs up.” I put on my trusty waterproof boots and went to clean out the drain to get rid of this unexpected trout farm. After about ten steps I discovered, the hard way, that the depth of the water was higher than the top of my boots. Oh joy! I poked around with a shovel for about five minutes, with very little effect, but could feel some of the debris starting to move.

All of a sudden all hell broke loose. A three foot whirlpool of water develop and was taking leaves and branches with it, and to some extent I began to worry that J.J. was about to be the next item being sucked into the flood control tunnel of oblivion. I got out of there real quick, went to high ground and took off my water soaked boots. The lake was actually draining. The sweet smell of success. Over the next few hours or so I had to clean out more detritus’s material, but the drain continued to do its thing. One of the chickens didn’t make it. Probably couldn’t swim.

The following week I got an appointment with the city engineer, the objective being to discuss this particular flood control project area. I was informed the city had no records of this project and had no responsibilities regarding drainage from the freeway system. I asked if they had any of the plans on file as it related to the land development of this particular area, which had once been a walnut orchard. The wonderful world of technology, “All the plans are on microfilm, except most of our files going back this far are not legible, due to improper storage. You’ll have to go to the County; we weren’t even a city when this was done.”

Thus began a year-long odyssey involving five different governmental agencies with limitless layers of bureaucracy. The only worthwhile thing that came from this effort was a comment made by one of these civil servants which was “You’re up a Creek with no paddle.” There’s a lot more to this story which bears a distinct similarity to “Alice” and anthropomorphic civil servants. But I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date and will have to discuss more of this after my meeting with the Mad Hatter.

Moral of the story: The fastest way to blind some people is to put a windshield in front of them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Uncategorized

Leave a comment